General Education

This committee shall recommend academic policies and standards for the General Education Program. It shall evaluate on a regular basis the implementation of the General Education Initiative and its goals. It shall also have the ability to develop and recommend new general education initiatives and to bring forward resolutions seeking to improve the ways in which the University fosters the goals of general education.

This committee shall consist of 16 members, including the Provost or designee; a representative of the office of Educational Assessment; a Residence Life representative; an Undergraduate Studies Committee representative; two faculty representatives from the College of Arts and Sciences (one representing humanities and social sciences, the other representing natural and mathematical sciences); one faculty representative from each of the remaining colleges or schools governed by Deans in which faculty have primary appointments; one graduate student; and two undergraduate students.

The faculty representatives will be different from faculty members serving on the Undergraduate Studies Committee, and they will be selected by the Committee on Committees and Nominations (COCAN). These representatives will serve two year terms, and they may be reappointed. One of the faculty representatives will be designated chairperson of the committee by COCAN.

The chairperson of the Committee may request the appointment of up to two additional representatives of administrative offices (such as Admissions, Service Learning, Center for Teaching Effectiveness, Career Services, etc.) if such appointments would assist the committee in developing or evaluating particular general education initiatives. These additional representatives shall not have voting privileges.

Chair: Jennifer Saylor

Committee Members:

Maria Anne Purciello
mpurciel@udel.edu
School of Music
2023

Rusty Lee
elee@udel.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering
2022 UGS Representative

Sarah DeYoung
sedeyoung@udel.edu
Sociology/Criminal Justice
2024

Susan Barton
sbarton@udel.edu
Plant & Soil Sciences
2023

Virgil Alexander
valex@udel.edu
B&E Accounting & MIS
2023

Mahya Ghandehari
mahya@udel.edu
Mathematical Sciences
2023

Barbara Settles
settlesb@udel.edu
Human Development & Family Science
2023

Chandra Kambhamettu
chandra@cis.udel.edu
Computer & Info Sciences
2023

Joanna York
jyork@udel.edu
Marine Science & Policy
2024

Jennifer Saylor
jsaylor@udel.edu
School of Nursing
2024

Kevin Guidry
krguidry@udel.edu
Center for Teaching & Assessment of Learning

Alan Parkes
aparkes@udel.edu
Graduate Student Representative